Message sent from:

Admissions and Transfers

Starting Nursery or School in Kirklees

Infant Places

Nursery Admissions

Priorities for admission to Nursery are listed below. Within each criteria children are admitted in age order, taking the oldest first.  This is done on a termly basis but only if there are places available in the Nursery.  We may give additional priority to children with special education and social needs.  We will admit children living outside the area in date of birth order.            

A morning or afternoon place will be offered by the Headteacher.  Parents will be offered a place during the term before the admission.

1.  Children in public care (Looked After Children).

2.  Children living in the school's Priority Admission Area (PAA) who have an older brother or sister attending from the same address at the date of admission in age order.

3.  Other children who live in the school's priority admission area in age order.

4.  Children who live outside the school’s PAA who have an older brother or sister already attending school at the time of admission in age order.

5.  Other children who live outside the school’s PAA in age order

These admission arrangements are correct at the time or printing, but may be subject to any alterations to the authority admissions procedure.

Transfer to the next stage of education

At the end of Year 2 children will transfer to a Junior or Primary School. The Headteacher will inform parents about procedures about transferring to the next stage of education in the autumn term of Year 2.

Most of the children transfer to Bywell Junior School.  In the summer term, once places have been confirmed, both schools organise pupil visits and meetings between teachers to ensure smooth transition.

Alternative arrangements for children transferring to other schools: If you live outside the Authority, you will be contacted separately by Kirklees School Admissions informing you what you need to do to apply for a Junior School place.

The Earlsheaton Family of Schools

Shaw Cross Infant and Nursery School is part of the Earlsheaton Educational Pyramid. 

Other schools in this  "Pyramid"  include:

Eastborough JIN

Hanging Heaton Infant and Junior School

Earlsheaton Infant School

Orchard Academy  

Bywell Junior School

Manor Croft Academy

All are committed to providing a good education for children who live in this area and communicate regularly.

Hit enter to search